Election of Executive Committee of IALE

Election of Executive Committee of IALE (2015-2019)

Dear IALE members,

The current Executive Committee (EC) of IALE is in its third year of this term and it’s now time to initiate a new EC election process. While we are busy with the preparation for the next World Congress, there are many other activities reported on the IALE homepage (http://www. Please check it out for updated news, overviews on the regions, and workings groups.

The IALE executive committee consists of a president (currently Felix Kienast), a past president (currently Bruce Jones), a secretary general (currently Thomas C. Edwards), a treasurer (currently Ralf-Uwe Syrbe), a bulletin editor and deputy secretary general (currently Benjamin Burkhard) and four vice presidents (currently Giovanni Zurlini, JeanPaul Metzger, Liding Chen, Robert Scheller).

The members are elected for a four-year term, with the last general election in 2011. Two of the four vice-presidents are elected to a four-year term between the general elections. In the existing Executive Committee, Liding Chen, Robert Scheller were elected as vice-presidents in 2013, and will thus continue after the next general election until 2017, when a new election of two vice-presidents for 2013-2017 will be launched.

Therefore we need candidates for 

  1. a President 
  2. a Secretary General (Tom Edwards will run again)
  3. a Treasurer 
  4. a Bulletin editor and Deputy Secretary General (Benjamin Burkhard will run again)
  5. two Vice Presidents
  6. a Chairman of the IALE council (Xiuzhen Li will run again)

Nominations shall be made by two members in good standing and shall be consented to in writing by the signature of the nominee. These nomination forms are due in the hands of the Secretary General by 15 January 2015. The nomination form may be used, but e-mails confirming the nomination and consent of the nominee will also be accepted, provided they are sent individually from the nominators. The members proposing the nominations are asked to enclose a short description of motives and recommendations for the nominee. The nominee is asked to enclose a short biography and a position statement for the nomination (in all not more than 1000 characters), suitable for publication. This should be forwarded together with the nomination form.

The Secretary General will deliver all valid nominations to the chairs of the nominating committee. The nominating committee is chaired by the current Past President (Bruce Jones) and the present Chairman of the IALE Council (Xiuzhen Li). They will appoint three additional members to the nominating committee, in a manner intended to provide regional representation and valid information concerning the received nominations. The nominating committee, with the consent of the nominee, may also make nominations.

The nominating committee will develop a slate with (if possible) at least two eligible candidates for each of the positions, to be filled in the election. Candidates will be selected from the nominations received with reference to: considerations of the statutes of the association, needs of each particular office, the international and regional nature of IALE, the interdisciplinary character of IALE, and other criteria likely to affect the vitality of IALE.

By 15 March 2015 the chair of the nominating committee shall announce through the IALE Bulletin and the web site the developed list of candidates for all positions to be filled in the election together with position statements prepared by the candidates. By 15 April 2015, members in good standing can submit additional write-in candidates for any position to the Secretary General, but such candidates must have agreed to serve if elected. Immediately after this deadline such submissions are forwarded to the chair of the nomination committee who will start the web-based election on 15 May 2015. An electronic invitation will be distributed to all members of IALE International currently in good standing, containing the slate of candidates for all positions to be filled in the election together with biography and position statements prepared by the candidates. To be valid, voting must be completed not later than 15 June 2015.

Members without an e-mail-address will receive a ballot via mail. Ballots returned by postal mail must be in the hands of the chair of the nominating committee before the end of the election on 15 June 2015.

Candidates for each position will be elected by a simple majority of valid ballots cast. In the event that there is only one candidate for a position, election of the single nominee by acclamation will be indicated by a simple majority of the votes cast. The results of the election will be announced on the web, at the IALE Congress in Portland 2015 and in the first IALE Bulletin after 15 June 2015. 


  • 15 January 2015:Nomination in the hands of the Secretary General (t.edwards(at)
  • 15 March 2015: Announcing the nominations through Bulletin and webpage
  • 15 April 2015: Nominations of additional write-in candidates in the hands of the Secretary General (t.edwards(at)
  • 15 May – 15 June 2015: Web-based election
  • after 15 June 2015: Results announced through Bulletin and the webpage


> Download nomination form (Doc Kb 26)

by Felix Kienast, President & Bruce Jones and Xiuzhen Li, chairs of the nominating committee



Call for Editor-in-Chief for the book series Landscape Series

For their renowned book series Landscape Series Springer and the current...

Call for proposals: 2023 IALE World Congress

Host the premier event for landscape ecologist worldwide | Bids are due by...

Socio-Ecological Practice Research for Sustainable Landscape Governance

Conference in online-virtual environment jointly organized by ELI / ICUB / SEPR...

1st IALE-Russia Conference moves to online format

Due to the restrictions induced by the Covid-19 pandemic the 1st IALE-Russia...

New Bulletin online

IALE Bulletin Vol. 38 No. 2 - June 2020 is online now.
Download the new...